Fairfax Police Youth Club

Spring Track/Field

2018 FPYC Track & Field Schedule

(See the Practice & Meet Locations tab for addresses and links to directions to the parks for practices and meets.) 

 

When What Location Time
Thursday, March 1 Meet the Coaches Night Fairfax Pacers 6:30-7:30 PM
Sunday, March 4 Introductory practice/Parent Meeting Fairfax HS 1:00-2:30PM
Tuesday, March 6 NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Thursday, March 8 NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Sunday, March 11 Practice Fairfax HS 1:00-2:15 PM
Tuesday, March 13 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, March 15 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM -7 PM
Sunday, March 18 FPYC Time Trials Fairfax HS 1:00-4:30 PM
Tuesday, March 20 Practice & Uniform Purchases Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, March 22 Practice & Uniform Purchases Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, March 25 Practice Fairfax HS 1 PM - 2 PM
Tuesday, March 27 FCPS Break Week - NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Thursday, March 29 FCPS Break Week - NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Sunday, April 1 FCPS Break Week - NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Tuesday, April 3 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, April 5 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, April 8 Practice & Uniform Purchases Fairfax HS 1 PM- 2:15 PM
Tuesday, April 10 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, April 12 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, April 15 FPYC Invitational Fairfax HS 12:00-5:00 PM
Tuesday, April 17 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, April 19 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, April 22 Mustang Invitational Culpeper, VA 10 AM- 5 PM
Sunday, April 22 PR Youth Invitational Reston, VA 12 PM - 4 PM
Tuesday, April 24 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, April 26 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, April 29 FPYC Invitational Fairfax HS 11:00-5:00 PM
Tuesday, May 1 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, May 3 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Saturday, May 5 Marlboro Track Club Invitational Oxon Hill, MD 9 AM (100m first call 8:30)
Tuesday, May 8 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, May 10 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, May 13 MOTHER'S DAY MEET - FPYC ONLY Fairfax HS 12 PM -5 PM
Tuesday, May 15 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, May 17 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Saturday, May 19 SYA Invitational Centreville, VA TBD
Tuesday, May 22 Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM-7 PM
Thursday, May 24 Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, May 27 HOLIDAY WEEKEND - NO PRACTICE n/a n/a
Tuesday, May 29 Post-season Practice Van Dyck Park/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, May 31 Post-season Practice Lanier MS/Accotink 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, June 3
Post-season Practice  
Fairfax High School 3 PM - 4 PM
Tuesday, June 5 Post-season Practice Van Dyck Park 6 PM - 7 PM
Wednesday, June 6 FPYC Banquet Lanier MS Cafeteria 5:30-8:30 PM
Thursday, June 7 Post-season Practice Lanier MS 6 PM - 7 PM
Sat./Sun. June 9-10th PVA/AAU District Qualifier Upper Marlboro, MD 8:00 AM Rolling
Tuesday, June 12 Qualifier Practice Van Dyck Park 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, June 14 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 6 PM - 7 PM
Fri-Sun. June 15-17th USATF PV J.O. Association Championship PGSL Complex
Landover, MD
Varies. See Meet Flyer
Tuesday, June 19 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 6 PM - 7 PM
Thursday, June 21 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 6 PM - 7 PM
Thurs. - Sun. June 21-24th AAU Region 3 Qualifier PGSL Complex
Landover, MD
Varies.  See Meet Flyer
Tuesday, June 26 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 6 PM- 7 PM
Thursday, June 28 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 6 PM - 7 PM
Sunday, July 1 Qualifier Practice Woodson HS 1 PM- 2:15 PM
Tues/Thurs. in July Qualifier/National Practices TBD 6 PM - 7 PM
Thurs.- Sun., July 5-8th USATF PVA J.O Regional Qualifier Hampton Univ., Hampton, VA Varies. See Meet Flyer
POST SEASON CHAMPIONSHIP RACES
WHEN WHAT Location TIME
July 23 – 29 USATF Hershey J.O. Track & Field Championships Greensboro, NC See Meet Flyer
July 28 - August 4 AAU J.O. Track & Field Championships Des Moines, Iowa See Meet Flyer

 


Track & Field Events

FPYC Athlete-Parent Track Handbook

Typical Running Events:
50 meters
Approx. 1/2 of the track straightaway: 6& Under only
100m
One full track straightaway
200m
1/2 track lap
 
400m
One full track lap
Approx. 1/4 of a mile
800m
Two track laps
Approx. 1/2 of a mile
1600m
Four track laps
Approx. 1 mile
3000m
7 and 1/2 track laps
Approx. 1 and 7/8 miles
 
Typical Field Events:
Long Jump
Universal landing area
Shot Put
Weights of 6kg, 4 lbs., and 12 kg, depending on the age of the participant
Turbo Javelin
Weights of 300g and 600g, depending on the age of the participant
 
Limited Exposure Events (not contested at Fairfax High School):
High Jump
Minimum starting height of 4 feet
Hurdles
Heights from 30" - 36" and races from 80m - 110m, depending on the age of the participant