Fairfax Police Youth Club

Cross Country

              2020 Fall Cross Country Schedule

The below schedule is tentative based on city park permits and confirmation from away meet directors. We DO NOT currently have confirmation that we will have Van Dyck and Daniel's Run. We received notice that DCXC has cancelled their meet this fall. We will need to submit a permit request for that weekend to have an FPYC practice or event.

At this time we are unlikely to host a "Meet the Coaches Night."  This would be a lot of people in a very small space and is not in the best interest of safety and physical distancing. 

We DO NOT take attendance at practices and do NOT need to be notified if your child will miss a practice. 

We anticipate that the 7-8 and 9-10 age groups will practice at one location and the 11-12 and 13 and up age groups will practice at the other location on the same day. (For example...7-8 and 9-10 at Van Dyck and 11-12 and 13 and up at Daniel's Run on the same day). Days may alternate so athletes can run the different terrains. Additional details about where the groups will be on certain days will be updated. Accotink will host all age groups as is typical since the group is smaller at that location. 

Uniform purchases during the week will only occur at Van Dyck. Accotink runners will need to attend a Fairfax practice to obtain a uniform unless other arrangements are made. 

WHEN WHAT FAIRFAX LOCATION ACCOTINK LOCATION TIME
Friday, August 28 Meet the Coaches Cancelled Fairfax Pacers Store Fairfax Pacers Store 6:30 - 7:30 p.m.
Sunday August 30 First practice/NO Meeting Fairfax High School Fairfax High School 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.
Tuesday, September 1 Practice Van Dyck/Daniels Run Train Trestle 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 3 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 6 NO Practice/Holiday Weekend n/a n/a n/a
Tuesday, September 8 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 10 Practice/uniform purchase Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 13 Practice/uniform purchase Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Van Dyck Park 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 15 Practice/uniform purchase Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 17 Practice/uniform purchase Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. 
Sunday, September 20 FPYC XC HOME MEET Van Dyck Park Van Dyck Park 1:30 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 22 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 24 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 26 TBD / DCXC meet- Cancelled TBD TBD TBD
Tuesday, September 29 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 1 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 4 FPYC PETER BANKS MEET Van Dyck Park Van Dyck Park 1:30 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 6 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 8 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 5:45 - 6:45 p.m.
Saturday, October 10 SYA XC Meet - AWAY Centreville, VA Centreville, VA 8:15  - 11:45 a.m.
Tuesday, October 13 Practice Van Dyck Park Train Trestle 5:45 - 6:45 p.m.
Thursday, October 15 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 5:45 - 6:45 p.m.
Sunday, October 18 FPYC XC HOME MEET Providence Park Providence Park 1:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 20 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 5:45 - 6:45 p.m.
Thursday, October 22 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 24 NOVA Athletic Club - AWAY Leesburg, VA Leesburg, VA 9:30 - 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, October 27 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Train Trestle 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 29 Practice Van Dyck/Daniel's Run Danbury Forest Pool Lot 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 1 Possible Local XC Meet- Away TBD Fairfax Location TBD
Tuesday, November 3  ? National Meet Practice  TBD Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, November 4 End-of Season Banquet Fairfax HS  Fairfax Location 5:30-8:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 5 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 8 USATF Qualifier - AWAY TBD  Fairfax Location 12:30 - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 10 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 12 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 15 National Meet Practice Van Dyck Park Van Dyck Park 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 17 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 19 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 -7:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 22 National Meet Practice Van Dyck Park Van Dyck Park 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 24 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 26 NO PRACTICE/THANKSGIVING n/a n/a n/a
Sunday, November 29 National Meet Practice Van Dyck Park  Van Dyck Park 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 1 National Meet Practice TBD  Fairfax Location 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 3 TBD TBD TBD TBD
Sunday, December 6 TBD TBD TBD TBD
Tuesday, December 8 TBD TBD TBD TBD

 

CROSS COUNTRY EVENTS

FPYC Running follows USATF guidelines for XC distances for double groups. 6 & Under (6U) is not an official USATF age group but at local youth races there is at times an option for a 1K race to allow the 5-6 y/o runners to have a shorter distance and separate age category from the 8 & Under (7-8 y/o). 

To compete at the USATF and/or AAU XC National meets, runners must turn 7 years old in that calendar year. Cross Country Coaches National Youth Championships (CCCNYC) does allow runners who turn 6 in the calendar year to compete with the 7-8 y/o, running the 2K at their youth championship meet.

Age Group

Kilometers

Miles

6U

1k

.621

7-8

2k

1.24

9-10

3k

1.86

11-12

3k

1.86

13-14

4k

2.48

15-18

5k

3.10